## Pennock City Council Meeting Tuesday, January 4, 2022

Pennock City Council held their regular monthly meeting on Tuesday, January 4, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. at the Pennock Community Center. The following members were present Mayor Kevin Crowley, Council members Jeff Arends and Bruce Bastin, virtual Dave Miller and Karen Skaggs. Also present was Donavan Peters, Deputy Riley Kampsen, residents Paul and Shelly Huettl, Kerry Gross and Brian Peterson.

Mayor Crowley called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m.

Motion by Council member Bastin to accept the Agenda as presented; Council member Arends seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

Motion by Council member Arends to approve the Consent Agenda which consisted of the December 7, 2021 Budget minutes and the December 7, 2021 Council minutes and to pay all the January bills; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

Deputy Riley Kampsen presented the sheriff's report. For the month of December there were 53.25 hours.

## **CITIZENS FORUM**

There was nothing.

#### **OLD BUSINESS**

*Resident at 230 2<sup>nd</sup> Street NE tampering with City property* – It was mentioned that the City received a letter regarding this matter from the resident. There was discussion and it was agreed to pursue with fines/penalties of tampering with City property.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

*Appointments* - Mayor Crowley presented the following appointments for office. Council member Arends made a motion to accept the following appointments; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

City Attorney – Brad Schmidt with Johnson, Moody, Schmidt, Kleinhuizen, & Zumwalt P.A. Mayor – Kevin Crowley Deputy Mayor – Bruce Bastin Signers on Checks – Kevin Crowley or Bruce Bastin and Dawn Johnson City Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer – Dawn Johnson Deputy Clerk – Tiffanie Krieger Fire Board – Kevin Crowley and Bruce Bastin Civil Defense – Mike Schackman Grader/Snowplow/Mowing – Donavan Peters Water and Sewer System – Donavan Peters Wastewater Consultant – Woody Nelson Community Center – Karen Skaggs and Dave Miller Official Newspaper – Kerkhoven Banner Building Inspector/Zoning Administrator – Mike Jacobson Official Depository – Heritage Bank Personnel Director – Bruce Bastin and Kevin Crowley West side of town – Council member Karen Skaggs East side of town – Council member Dave Miller South side of town – Council member Jeff Arends Parks – Council member Bruce Bastin

# Residents are encouraged to contact these representatives with problems and concerns.

*Out-of-State Travel Policy* - The Employees and Elected Officials Out-of State Travel Policy were reviewed. Even though the city does not travel outside the State of Minnesota as per Minn. Stat. §471.661, requires the City to have a policy in place. Council member Arends made a motion to approve the Policy; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Credit Card Policy* - Council member Arends made a motion to approve the Credit Card Policy for the City; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*MN Rural Water Association 2022 Membership Renewal* - Council member Bastin made a motion to renew the 2022 membership for MN Rural Water Association along with equipment fund contribution; Council member Arends seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Meter Readings* - Council member Arends made a motion to continue paying Maintenance employee Peters and Clerk Johnson an hour per day on weekends and holidays for reading the meters; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Monthly Bills* - Council member Arends made a motion to give Clerk Johnson permission to pay bills monthly that are not received prior to Council meetings to avoid late charges, Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Safekeeping* - Council member Arends made a motion to accept the collateral pledge from Heritage Bank NA for excess deposits from Federal Home Bank and Champaign

County Illinois Community Unit also to accept the safekeeping of the original pledge certificate at U.S. Bank Money Center; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Fee Schedule* - Council member Miller made a motion via virtual to adopt the Fee Schedule for 2022 with the change of water reconnect (due to delinquent bill) to \$50.00/during work hours and \$75.00/after hours and weekends; Council member Skaggs seconds the motion via virtual. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Brush Site billing for Mamre and St. John's Township* – Council member Arends made a motion to bill Mamre and St. John's Township a yearly fee of \$300.00 each for the use of the brush site; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Community Center Fee for St. John's Township* – Council member Arends made a motion to bill St. John's Township \$35.00 per meeting for the use of the Community Center for their meetings; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed.

*Pennock Promoter* – It was mentioned that the monthly Pennock Promoter will be discontinued from the Kerkhoven Banner. Clerk Johnson will send out a survey inquiring as to how many residents read the minutes in the Kerkhoven Banner or look at alternative ways to provide the minutes in the future.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

*Council member Bastin* – Inquired if the farmer on the east side of the brush site road was aware that he is not to farm the city land this upcoming year. Mayor Crowley said that he would clarify that with them.

Being no further business Council member Arends made a motion to adjourn the meeting; Council member Bastin seconds the motion. Roll call vote was taken. All in favor. The motion passed. Meeting was adjourned at 7:39 p.m.

Dawn Johnson Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer